Obtenez votre exemplaire du Security Service Edge (SSE) pour les nuls. Obtenir l'EBook

Security Defined Cybersecurity EncyclopediaQu'est-ce qu'une passerelle Web sécurisée (SWG) de nouvelle génération ?

Passerelle Web sécurisée (SWG) de nouvelle génération

8 min read

Qu'est-ce qu'une passerelle Web sécurisée (SWG) de nouvelle génération ?

A Next Generation Secure Web Gateway (SWG) is a new cloud-native solution for protecting enterprises from the growing volume of sophisticated cloud enabled threats and data risks. It is the logical evolution of the traditional secure web gateway, also known as a web proxy or web filter. Unlike a traditional secure web gateway, a Next Gen SWG deals in both cloud and web traffic, whereas the former only deals in web traffic and is blind to cloud-enabled threats and data risks for personal instances of managed apps, thousands of shadow IT apps and cloud services.

Au cours de la dernière décennie, de nombreuses entreprises ont permis à des services cloud spécifiques répertoriés, comme Microsoft Office 365, de contourner les systèmes de sécurité des pare-feux et des proxys intégrés, permettant ainsi aux menaces de rentrer ou aux exfiltrations de données de sortir par la grande porte. L'incapacité à détecter les transferts de données entre l'entreprise et les instances personnelles d'applications cloud, ou encore l'utilisation d'instances malveillantes pour transmettre des menaces via le cloud, sont autant de lacunes pour les systèmes de protection traditionnels.

La Next-Gen SWG vous permet de continuer à opérer en gardant le contrôle du mouvement des données de l'entreprise dans les applications et les services cloud ou freiner les workflows par des interdictions générales de certaines applications et activités. Ceci est crucial compte tenu de la récente adoption du télétravail à grande échelle, et de la migration des architectures traditionnelles sur site vers le cloud ces dernières années.

Passerelles Web sécurisées de nouvelle génération


Rapport Gartner : Netskope nommé visionnaire dans le Magic Quadrant 2020 des SWG
Cas d'usage : Les 6 principaux cas d'usage d'une NG SWG


 

How is a Next Generation Secure Web Gateway Solution Different from a Legacy Web Proxy Solution?

Comme nous l'avons dit plus haut, les Next-Gen SWG constituent la prochaine évolution des solutions traditionnelles de passerelles proxy Web, mais comment vous protègent-elles exactement contre les types de menaces modernes et les risques liés aux données ?

Pour faire simple, les solutions traditionnelles de filtrage et de proxy Web ne sont plus efficaces pour protéger l'entreprise ou les utilisateurs d'applications Web et cloud au regard des aspects suivants :

1. Augmentation des applications et services cloud, ainsi que des menaces propres au cloud
Aujourd'hui, plus de la moitié du trafic Web (53 %) est lié à des applications et à des services cloud, et plus des deux tiers des malwares (68 %) sont diffusés à partir d'applications cloud plutôt que sur le Web*. Les passerelles proxy Web traditionnelles ne peuvent pas décoder les applications et les services cloud pour détecter ces menaces transmises via le cloud. Toutes les phases de la chaîne cybercriminelle (ou Cyber kill chain) sont maintenant présentes dans le cloud, y compris la reconnaissance, l'armement, la livraison et les communications de rappel.

Départements et utilisateurs continuent d'adopter librement de nouvelles applications et de nouveaux services cloud, avec une croissance de 22 % au cours des six premiers mois de cette année, où l'entreprise moyenne de 500 à 2 000 utilisateurs accède à 805 applications distinctes. Les solutions SWG traditionnelles sont pour la plupart aveugles face ces applications de Shadow IT et services cloud en pleine expansion, et moins de 3 % d'entre elles sont managées par le service informatique.

2. Augmentation de l'exposition et du vol de données dans un monde en mode cloud
Plus de 90 % des données créées dans le cloud l'ont été au cours des deux dernières années, et plus de 70 % des utilisateurs sont mobiles et travaillent à distance N'importe quel utilisateur d'aujourd'hui peut facilement transférer des données entre l'entreprise et des instances personnelles, ou transférer des données à une autre instance d'une application cloud personnelle, tout en utilisant sa messagerie électronique et en partageant des liens.

Les solutions SWG traditionnelles manquent souvent de capacités de DLP, en particulier pour les services et les applications cloud, les navigateurs Web et les formulaires en ligne, les applications mobiles et les clients de synchronisation.

3. Augmentation du nombre de collaborateurs travaillant à distance, accédant à des applis et ressources privées et publiques
La transformation digitale vers le cloud et le mobile redirige les solutions de sécurité existantes basées sur des appliances, afin de mieux protéger le nombre croissant de télétravailleurs. Les anciennes appliances SWG situées dans les locaux des entreprises obligent à passer au peigne fin avec des VPN le trafic vers des datacenters centraux, ce qui n'est plus suffisant et se traduit par une mauvaise expérience pour l'utilisateur.

L'architecture SASE (Secure Access Service Edge) réunit plusieurs mesures de sécurité en une seule plateforme cloud, dotée d'une console et d'un moteur de règles, ce qui permet de réduire le coût total des opérations. Les Next Gen SWG couvrent cinq voies de trafic utilisateur vers des ressources publiques, notamment le Web, le SaaS géré, le Shadow IT, les services cloud publics et les applications personnalisées dans les services cloud publics. Les applications et ressources privées au sein de l'architecture SASE utilisent un accès réseau Zero Trust (ZTNA) qui ne repose plus sur la confiance implicite basée sur la localisation ou l'appareil. Dans ce nouveau modèle, n'importe quel utilisateur, n'importe où, sur n'importe quel appareil, est protégé par des services de sécurité cloud en périphérie, avec un impact minimal sur les performances.

L'étendue du contrôle, la surveillance et la protection des cinq voies du trafic utilisateur inspecté sont les principaux outils qui donnent à une SWG de nouvelle génération son caractère révolutionnaire. Une Next-Gen SWG va au-delà des anciennes règles d'autorisation et de blocage des proxys Web pour le trafic à une voie et combine les capacités des proxys, des CASB et des plateformes de DLP (prévention des pertes de données). Cette combinaison offre tout un éventail de fonctionnalités et de capacités avancées en matière de visibilité cloud :

  • filtrage du contenu Web avec classements dynamiques
  • déchiffrement SSL/TLS avec les performances et l'évolutivité du cloud
  • fonctionnalité CASB intégrée permettant d'identifier, de décoder et d'inspecter le trafic des services cloud et des applications
  • protection contre les menaces avancées (ATP) avec détection des anomalies par sandboxing et machine learning
  • prévention des pertes de données (DLP) pour les applications cloud et le trafic Web
  • informations et métadonnées riches permettant de conduire des enquêtes, effectuer des rapports détaillés et plus encore.

Une Next-Gen SWG vous permet de surveiller les comportements sur le Web ou dans les applications et les services cloud, de définir des politiques d'utilisation acceptable granulaires, d'appeler des politiques adaptatives basées sur le risque des applications, le risque des utilisateurs, l'activité et la sensibilité des données, et de fournir un accompagnement de l'utilisateur en temps réel vers des alternatives plus sûres et loin des applications à risque. Non seulement cela améliore votre sécurité dans le cloud, mais aussi l'expérience des utilisateurs en évitant les interdictions générales de certaines actions et de certains appareils. Les contrôles granulaires et la visibilité inline d'une Next-Gen SWG permettent de contextualiser l'activité des utilisateurs et des données afin que des règles adaptatives puissent guider les utilisateurs tout en réduisant les risques et en protégeant les données sans interférer avec les pratiques de travail légitimes.


Blog: La direction prise par les CASB et les SWG
White Paper: Transférez vos solutions de sécurité vers le cloud, pour le cloud


 

Quelles sont les fonctionnalités communes d'une Next-Gen Secure Web Gateway ?

Voici les six fonctionnalités individuelles propres à une Next-Gen Secure Web Gateway :

1. Surveille et évalue les actions individuelles
Obtenez des informations en ligne pour des milliers de services cloud et d'applications managés ou non managés, ainsi que le trafic Web, et unifiez les capacités critiques SWG, CASB et DLP en une plateforme unique.

See Next Gen SWG Monitoring and Assessment in Action

2. Contrôle granulaire des applications
Contrôlez en temps réel et avec une grande précision plusieurs milliers d'applications cloud, y compris celles en Shadow IT qui sont gérées par des secteurs d'activité et des utilisateurs, et celles gérées par l'équipe informatique. Vous pourrez ainsi neutraliser ce qui pourrait vous être préjudiciable, tout en autorisant l'accès aux éléments fiables.

See Next Gen SWG Application Control in Action

3. Implémentation de politiques d'utilisation acceptable
Associez des capacités de filtrage Web traditionnel, couvrant les catégories d'URL, les catégories personnalisées et l'évaluation dynamique des pages pour les nouveaux sites, à une évaluation complète de l'utilisation et des risques des applications cloud, ainsi qu'à des politiques d'utilisation acceptable s'appliquant à la fois au cloud et au Web.

See Next Gen SWG Acceptable Use Policies in Action

4. Protection contre les menaces
Protégez-vous contre les menaces les plus évoluées et les malwares diffusés sur le Web et dans le cloud avec des systèmes de protection évolués, tels que la reconnaissance des instances d'applis cloud pour détecter les instances personnelles et malveillantes utilisées pour le phishing et les menaces, l'analyse avant exécution des scripts et des macros, le sandboxing bare metal et cloud, ainsi que l'analyse des menaces et la détection des anomalies par machine learning.

See Next Gen SWG Threat Protection in Action

5. Protection totale des données
Ne perdez plus jamais la trace de vos données et assurez leur protection où qu'elles se trouvent grâce à une inspection précise s'appuyant sur des fonctions avancées comme l'exact matching et le fingerprinting avec similarity matching.

See Next Gen SWG Data Protection in Action

6. Couverture directe vers Internet
Éliminez les frais élevés d'acheminement (backhaul) et améliorez la performance des utilisateurs et bureaux satellites, grâce à une infrastructure cloud en mode edge, optimisée pour fournir une haute capacité et une faible latence, partout dans le monde.

See Next Gen SWG Edge Network Security in Action

 

Que faut-il rechercher dans une Next-Gen Secure Web Gateway ?

Les entreprises qui souhaitent adopter une SWG de nouvelle génération doivent rechercher une solution cloud-native, unifiée, reposant sur une plateforme unique. Cette solution doit :

1. Exploiter une véritable architecture cloud
Pour tirer vraiment parti des performances et de l'évolutivité du cloud, la solution doit s'articuler autour de microservices cloud-native aux capacités totalement intégrées. Il ne doit pas s'agir de plusieurs solutions traditionnelles hébergées dans le cloud. Par ailleurs, pour bénéficier d'une performance élevée et d'une disponibilité mondiale, il est essentiel d'utiliser un réseau privé de catégorie opérateur, optimisé pour un accès exploitant des relations de peering avec des fournisseurs de services cloud locaux et mondiaux. De cette manière, le service cloud a un impact minimal sur la qualité de l'expérience utilisateur et, dans certains cas, l'expérience en est même accélérée.

2. Décoder des applications et des services cloud
La solution doit décoder des milliers d'applications et de services cloud, tout en décodant aussi le trafic Web, afin de connaître le contenu et le contexte pour mettre en place des dispositifs de protection des données et de neutralisation des menaces. Le nouveau langage est constitué d'API, reposant sur le format JSON pour les applications, les services cloud et les sites Web. Les dispositifs de défense d'une NG SWG doivent connaître l'utilisateur, le périphérique, l'emplacement, l'application, le risque, l'instance, le contenu et l'activité pour vérifier en contexte si les politiques sont respectées. Ils doivent aussi recueillir des métadonnées riches qui serviront aux analyses, aux enquêtes et au machine learning.

3. S'adapter aux nouvelles attaques
La solution ne peut pas se contenter d'offrir une protection contre les attaques connues. Elle doit être capable de neutraliser un large éventail de nouvelles menaces, y compris les menaces propres au cloud (cloud phishing, diffusion de payloads via le cloud, communications de rappel). Pour y parvenir, il est essentiel de décoder les applications et les services cloud afin d'identifier le contenu et le contexte, lesquels serviront aux mécanismes avancés de protection des données et de neutralisation des menaces, ainsi qu'au machine learning.

Les menaces propres au cloud exploitent des domaines de confiance, aux certificats valides, de deux façons : soit en passant au travers des dispositifs de défense traditionnels, soit en figurant dans la « liste verte » afin de contourner les mécanismes de protection Dans des environnements informatiques traditionnels, les utilisateurs peuvent transférer, de manière accidentelle ou malveillante, des données entre l'entreprise et des instances personnelles, ou être victimes d'une attaque de phishing permettant d'accéder à leurs identifiants.


Blog: Le point de vue d'un RSSI sur les SASE
Blog: Gartner et son guide stratégique pour le modèle de convergence SASE


 

What’s the Role of Next Gen SWG in a SASE Dominated Future?

La pandémie ayant entraîné une adoption massive du cloud, la technologie SWG prend une tournure la dépassant elle-même. Associé à d'autres technologies telles que la DLP (Prévention des pertes de données) et les CASB (Cloud Access Security Brokers), le concept d'une Next Gen Secure Web Gateway est un élément crucial de ce que l'on appelle l'architecture SASE (Secure Access Service Edge).

Le SASE combine plusieurs technologies de sécurité et de réseau pour assurer une sécurité complète du Web et du cloud sans les inconvénients de la sécurité basée sur des appliances et périmétrique traditionnelle, comme la latence et le manque de contexte dans l'utilisation des données.

Cela signifie qu'une solution à portée limitée comme une passerelle Web sécurisée n'est plus une option pour les entreprises. Elle nécessite une approche combinée de plusieurs outils dans laquelle les Next Gen SWG ne sont qu'un composant de cette stratégie de sécurité.

 

Netskope lauréat du 2021 Gartner Peer Insights Customers’ Choice

L'équipe de Netskope est fière d'annoncer que l'entreprise a reçu le Gartner Peer Insights Customers’ Choice 2021 pour sa solution de Secure Web Gateway. *

 

Get the full report to see the results of the 2021 Gartner Peer Insights “Voice of the Customer” for SWG.

Netskope a reçu le Gartner Peer Insights Customers' Choice  2021 dans la catégorie CASB et SWG

Le 10 juin 2021, Netskope a obtenu une note globale de 4,7 sur 5 sur le marché des SWG, sur la base de 69 avis.

 

Gartner ne recommande aucun des fournisseurs, produits ou services présentés dans ses publications ni ne préconise aux utilisateurs de technologies de sélectionner uniquement les fournisseurs ayant obtenu les classements les plus élevés ou toute autre nomination. Les publications de recherche de Gartner représentent les opinions de l'organisation de recherche Gartner et ne sont pas à considérer comme des faits. Gartner ne fournit aucune garantie, expresse ou implicite, quant à ces recherches, y compris toute garantie de qualité marchande ou d'adéquation à un usage donné.

 

Le label Gartner Peer Insights Customers' Choice est une marque déposée et une marque de service de Gartner, Inc. et/ou de ses organisations affiliées, et est utilisé ici avec son autorisation. Tous droits réservés. Gartner Peer Insights Customers' Choice reflète les opinions subjectives des évaluations, notations et données d'utilisateurs individuelles appliquées à une méthodologie documentée. Elles ne représentent pas les opinions de Gartner ou de ses organisations affiliées ni ne constituent-elles une approbation de leur part.

Ressources

Check-list : 12 fonctions nécessaires pour toute passerelle web de nouvelle génération

Check-list : 12 fonctions nécessaires pour toute passerelle web de nouvelle génération

Netskope Threat Protection - data sheet

Netskope Threat Protection

Netskope Remote Browser Isolation

Netskope Remote Browser Isolation

Comprendre les SWG de nouvelle génération

Comprendre les SWG de nouvelle génération

Next Generation Secure Web Gateway - solution brief

Passerelles Web sécurisées de nouvelle génération

Guide d'adoption SASE

Guide d'adoption SASE

Next Gen SWG Evaluator: 6 Common Use Cases guide

Next Gen SWG Evaluator Guide: 6 Common Use Cases

Magic Quadrant 2020 de Gartner dédié aux SWG

Magic Quadrant 2020 de Gartner dédié aux SWG

Shift Your Web Security to the Cloud, for the Cloud - white paper

Transférez vos solutions de sécurité Web vers le cloud, pour le cloud

Cloud-enabled Threats Guide

Cloud-enabled Threats Guide

Rapport cloud et menaces - Février 2021

Cloud and Threat Report - February 2020 Edition

Web Security with Cloud Performance and Scale

Web Security with Cloud Performance and Scale

Netskope Cloud Report-August 2019

Netskope Cloud Report - August 2019

Stroock Case Study

Stroock Case Study

Apria Case Study

Apria Case Study

Demo-Web Content Filtering

Demo - Web Content Filtering

Demo-Cloud XD for Web

Demo - Cloud XD for Web

Demo - Threat Protect for Web

Demo - Threat Protect for Web

Subscribe for the latest cloud security insights

By submitting this form, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge our Privacy Statement.

Netskope named a Leader in the 2022 Gartner® Magic Quadrant™ for Security Service Edge. Get the Report.

  • Platform

    Unrivaled visibility and real-time data and threat protection on the world's largest security private cloud.

  • Products

    Netskope products are built on the Netskope Security Cloud.

Netskope delivers a modern cloud security stack, with unified capabilities for data and threat protection, plus secure private access.

Explore our platform

Netskope Named a Leader in the 2022 Gartner Magic Quadrant™ for SSE Report

Get the report

Make the move to market-leading cloud security services with minimal latency and high reliability.

Learn more

Prevent threats that often evade other security solutions using a single-pass SSE framework.

Learn more

Zero trust solutions for SSE and SASE deployments

Learn more

Netskope enables a safe, cloud-smart, and fast journey to adopt cloud services, apps, and public cloud infrastructure.

Learn more
  • Customer Success

    Secure your digital transformation journey and make the most of your cloud, web, and private applications.

  • Customer Support

    Proactive support and engagement to optimize your Netskope environment and accelerate your success.

Trust Netskope to help you address evolving threats, new risks, technology shifts, organizational and network changes, and new regulatory requirements.

Learn more

We have qualified engineers worldwide, with diverse backgrounds in cloud security, networking, virtualization, content delivery, and software development, ready to give you timely, high-quality technical assistance.

Learn more
  • Resources

    Learn more about how Netskope can help you secure your journey to the cloud.

  • Blog

    Learn how Netskope enables security and networking transformation through security service edge (SSE).

  • Events & Workshops

    Stay ahead of the latest security trends and connect with your peers.

  • Security Defined

    Everything you need to know in our cybersecurity encyclopedia.

Security Visionaries Podcast

Bonus Episode: The Importance of Security Service Edge (SSE)

Play the podcast

Read the latest on how Netskope can enable the Zero Trust and SASE journey through security service edge (SSE) capabilities.

Read the blog

Join us for a complimentary, hands-on cloud security workshop that’ll teach you how to securely adopt cloud services within the enterprise.

Find a workshop

What is Security Service Edge?

Explore the security side of SASE, the future of network and protection in the cloud.

Learn more
  • Company

    We help you stay ahead of cloud, data, and network security challenges.

  • Why Netskope

    Cloud transformation and work from anywhere have changed how security needs to work.

  • Leadership

    Our leadership team is fiercely committed to doing everything it takes to make our customers successful.

  • Partners

    We partner with security leaders to help you secure your journey to the cloud.

Netskope enables the future of work.

Find out more

Netskope is redefining cloud, data, and network security to help organizations apply Zero Trust principles to protect data.

Learn more

Thinkers, builders, dreamers, innovators. Together, we deliver cutting-edge cloud security solutions to help our customers protect their data and people.

Meet our team

Netskope’s partner-centric go-to-market strategy enables our partners to maximize their growth and profitability while transforming enterprise security.

Learn more
Security Defined Cybersecurity Encyclopedia What is a Next Generation Secure Web Gateway (SWG)?

Next Generation Secure Web Gateway (SWG)

9 min read

What is a Next Generation Secure Web Gateway (SWG)?

A Next Generation Secure Web Gateway (SWG) is a new cloud-native solution for protecting enterprises from the growing volume of sophisticated cloud enabled threats and data risks. It is the logical evolution of the traditional secure web gateway, also known as a web proxy or web filter. Unlike a traditional secure web gateway, a Next Gen SWG deals in both cloud and web traffic, whereas the former only deals in web traffic and is blind to cloud-enabled threats and data risks for personal instances of managed apps, thousands of shadow IT apps and cloud services.

Over the past decade, many enterprises have allow listed specific cloud services such as Microsoft Office 365 to bypass inline firewall and proxy security defenses – enabling a “red carpet” entry for threats or data exfiltration. The inability to detect data transferring between company and personal cloud app instances or the use of rogue instances for threat cloud delivery adds to the list of blind spots for legacy defenses.

What makes something Next Gen?

Next Gen SWG allows you to continue to operate without sacrificing control over company data movement in apps and cloud services, or stifling workflows with blanket bans on certain applications and activities. This is crucial considering the recent and massive shift from office work to remote work, as well as the migration from traditional on-premise architectures over to the cloud during the past few years.

next generation secure web gateway


Use Cases: The Top 6 Use Cases for NG SWG


 

How is a Next Generation Secure Web Gateway Solution Different from a Legacy Web Proxy Solution?

As stated earlier, Next Gen SWG is the next evolution in traditional web proxy gateway solutions, but how exactly do they protect against the modern threat landscape and data risks?

Simply put, traditional web filtering and proxy solutions are no longer effective at safeguarding web and cloud app users or the enterprise from the following:

1. Increasing cloud apps and services, as well as cloud-enabled threats
More than half of web traffic today (53%) is related to apps and cloud services, and more than two-thirds of malware (68%) is delivered from cloud apps versus the web*. Legacy web proxy gateways cannot decode apps and cloud services to detect these cloud delivered threats. All stages of the cyber kill chain are now cloud-enabled, including reconnaissance, weaponization, delivery, and call back communications.

Business units and users continue to freely adopt new apps and cloud services, growing 22% for the first six months of this year where the average company with 500-2000 users accesses 805 distinct apps. Legacy SWG solutions are mostly blind to these growing shadow IT apps and cloud services and less than 3% are managed by IT.

2. Rising data exposure and theft in a cloud-first world
Over 90% of data created in the cloud happened in the last two years and more than 70% of users are mobile and work remotely. The ability to transfer data between company and personal instances of managed cloud apps, or to another personal cloud app instance, plus using webmail and sharing links is an easy task for any user today.

Legacy SWG solutions often lack DLP capabilities, especially for apps and cloud services, web browsers and forms, mobile apps and sync clients.

3. Growing number of remote workers accessing private and public apps and resources
The digital transformation to cloud and mobile is inverting the legacy appliance-based security stack to the cloud to better protect an increasing base of remote workers. Legacy SWG appliances located in offices force traffic hair-pinning with VPNs to central data centers which is no longer sufficient and results in a poor user experience.

Secure access service edge (SASE) architecture unites multiple security defenses into one cloud platform, with one console, and one policy engine resulting in lower total cost of operations. Next Gen SWGs cover five lanes of user traffic to public resources including web, managed SaaS, shadow IT, public cloud services, and custom apps in public cloud services. Private apps and resources within SASE architecture use Zero trust network access (ZTNA) where implicit trust based on location or device is removed. In this new model, any user, any location, on any device is protected by a nearby cloud security services edge with minimal impact on performance.

What makes a Next Gen SWG truly “next generation” is the depth of control, monitoring, and protection for the five lanes of user traffic inspected. A Next Gen SWG goes beyond old “allow/block” policies of web proxies for one-lane of traffic and combines the capabilities of proxies, inline cloud access security brokers (CASB), and data loss prevention (DLP) platforms. This combination delivers a variety of advanced cloud visibility features and capabilities:

  • web content filtering with dynamic ratings
  • SSL/TLS decryption with cloud performance and scale
  • cloud access security broker (CASB) inline functionality to discover, decode and inspect apps and cloud services traffic
  • advanced threat protection (ATP) including sandboxing and machine learning-based anomaly detection
  • data loss prevention (DLP) for cloud apps and web traffic
  • insights, rich metadata context for investigations, detailed reporting, and more.

With the use of a Next Gen SWG, you can monitor behavior for web, apps and cloud services, set granular acceptable use policies, invoke adaptive policies based on app risk, user risk, activity, and data sensitivity, and provide real-time user coaching to safer alternatives and away from risky apps. Not only does this improve your security in the cloud, but it also improves user experiences by avoiding blanket bans on certain actions and devices. Granular controls and inline visibility of a Next Gen SWG helps contextualize user and data activity so adaptive policies can guide users while reducing risk and protecting data without interfering with legitimate work practices.


Blog: Where CASB and SWG Are Headed
White Paper: Shift Your Security to the Cloud, For the Cloud


What’s the difference between a Web Filter, a SWG, and a Next Gen SWG?

 

What are the Common Next Gen Secure Web Gateway Capabilities?

These are the six individual capabilities unique to a Next Generation Secure Web Gateway:

1. Monitors and assesses individual actions
Achieve inline visibility for thousands of managed and unmanaged apps and cloud services, plus web traffic, and unify SWG+CASB+DLP critical capabilities into one platform.

See Next Gen SWG Monitoring and Assessment in Action

2. Granular control over applications
Get real-time, granular control of thousands of cloud apps including the shadow IT ones led by lines of business and users vs. IT. This enables you to stop the bad stuff from happening and safely enable the good.

See Next Gen SWG Application Control in Action

3. Implementation of acceptable use policies
Incorporate a combination of traditional web filtering covering URL categories, custom categories, and dynamic page ratings for new sites with comprehensive cloud app usage ratings, risks, and acceptable use policies that cover both cloud and web.

See Next Gen SWG Acceptable Use Policies in Action

4. Protection against threats
Protect against web and cloud-delivered malware and advanced threats with advanced defense capabilities from cloud app instance awareness to detect rogue and personal instances used to deliver phishing and threats, to pre-execution analysis of scripts and macros, cloud and bare-metal sandboxing, and machine learning-based threat analysis and anomaly detection.

See Next Gen SWG Threat Protection in Action

5. Protection of data everywhere
Follow and protect data everywhere it goes and ensure accurate and precise inspection with advanced capabilities ranging from exact match to fingerprinting with similarity matching.

See Next Gen SWG Data Protection in Action

6. Covers direct-to-internet
Eliminate costly back hauling and improve performance for remote offices and users with cloud edge-based network infrastructure, optimized for low latency and high capacity worldwide.

See Next Gen SWG Edge Network Security in Action

 

What to Look for in a Next Gen Secure Web Gateway

Organizations looking to adopt a Next Gen SWG should look for a single-platform, unified, cloud-native solution that:

1. Leverages true cloud architecture
The solution must be built around cloud-native microservices with fully integrated capabilities, not cloud-hosted separate legacy solutions, for true cloud performance and scale. Also, using a carrier grade private network optimized for access leveraging peering relationships with global and local cloud service providers is essential for worldwide availability and performance. The resulting cloud service has a minimal performance impact on the user experience, and in some cases, an accelerated experience.

2. Decodes apps and cloud services
The solution must decode thousands of apps and cloud services alongside web traffic to understand content and context for data and threat protection defenses. The new language is APIs built around JSON for apps, cloud services, and web sites. NG SWG defenses need to understand user, device, location, app, risk, instance, content, and activity for contextual policy controls, plus collecting rich metadata for analytics, investigations and machine learning.

3. Keeps pace with new attacks
The solution can’t simply protect against known attacks, instead, it should be able to address a wide array of new and emerging threats, including cloud-enabled threats such as cloud phishing, cloud payload delivery, and callback communications. This requires the systematic advantage of decoding apps and cloud services for content and context for advanced threat and data protection defenses, plus machine learning.

Cloud-enabled threats leverage trusted domains with valid certificates either passing through legacy defenses or being allow-listed to bypass defenses. Users can maliciously or accidentally transfer data between company and personal instances, or be phished for access credentials in these legacy environments.


Blog: A CISOs View of SASE
Blog: How to Think About Gartner’s Strategic Roadmap for SASE Convergence


 

What’s the Role of Next Gen SWG in a SASE Dominated Future?

With the massive shifts to the cloud over the course of the pandemic, SWG technology is morphing into something bigger than itself. Combined with other technologies such as data loss prevention (DLP) and Cloud Access Security Brokers (CASB), the concept of a Next Gen Secure Web Gateway is a crucial component of what is known as Secure Access Service Edge (SASE) architecture.

SASE combines multiple security and networking technologies to provide comprehensive web and cloud security without the hiccups of traditional perimeter appliance-based security, such as latency and lack of context into data usage.

What this means is that a limited scope solution like a secure web gateway is no longer an option for companies. It’ll require a combined approach of multiple security solutions known as Security Service Edge (SSE) in which Next Gen SWGs work with cloud access security brokers (CASB), data loss prevention (DLP), and user/entity behavior analytics (UEBA) in an SSE platform. Netskope SSE combines all of these tools into a single pass architecture that will reduce risk, accelerate performance, and provide unrivaled visibility into any cloud, web, and private application activity.

 

Resources

Checklist: 12 Capabilities You Need in a Next Gen SWG

Checklist: 12 Capabilities You Need in a Next Gen SWG

Netskope Threat Protection - data sheet

Netskope Threat Protection

Netskope Remote Browser Isolation

Netskope Remote Browser Isolation

Understanding Next Gen SWG

Understanding Next Gen SWG

Next Generation Secure Web Gateway - solution brief

Next Generation Secure Web Gateway

Adoption Guide for SASE

Adoption Guide for SASE

Next Gen SWG Evaluator: 6 Common Use Cases guide

Next Gen SWG Evaluator Guide: 6 Common Use Cases

2020 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SWG

2020 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SWG

Shift Your Web Security to the Cloud, for the Cloud - white paper

Shift Your Web Security to the Cloud, for the Cloud

Cloud-enabled Threats Guide

Cloud-enabled Threats Guide

Cloud and Threat Report - February 2021

Cloud and Threat Report - February 2020 Edition

Web Security with Cloud Performance and Scale

Web Security with Cloud Performance and Scale

Netskope Cloud Report-August 2019

Netskope Cloud Report - August 2019

Stroock Case Study

Stroock Case Study

Apria Case Study

Apria Case Study

Demo-Web Content Filtering

Demo - Web Content Filtering

Demo-Cloud XD for Web

Demo - Cloud XD for Web

Demo - Threat Protect for Web

Demo - Threat Protect for Web

Subscribe for the latest cloud security insights

By submitting this form, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge our Privacy Statement.