Obtenez votre exemplaire du Security Service Edge (SSE) pour les nuls. Obtenir l'EBook

SASE (Secure Access Service Edge)

7 min read

Qu'est-ce que SASE ?

Secure Access Service Edge (SASE), prononcé « sassy », est une architecture basée sur le cloud qui fournit des services réseau et de sécurité destinés à protéger les utilisateurs, les applications et les données. Ce terme a été inventé par Gartner en 2019 et a rapidement gagné en popularité pour devenir l'un des principaux concepts de sécurité à l'heure actuelle. Le contexte actuel éloigne un grand nombre d'utilisateurs et d'applications des réseaux d'entreprise. Dès lors, les mesures d'accès et de sécurité ne peuvent plus dépendre des appliances matérielles classiques situées dans le datacenter de l'entreprise.

Une architecture SASE vous permet de bénéficier des capacités de réseau et de sécurité nécessaires sous la forme de services cloud. Lorsqu'il est correctement exécuté, le modèle SASE supprime la dépendance aux appliances en périphérie et autres solutions traditionnelles. Au lieu que le trafic soit transmis à une appliance à des fins de sécurité, les utilisateurs se connectent à un service cloud SASE. À partir de ce dernier, ils sont en mesure d'accéder à des applications et des données en toute sécurité et de les utiliser dans le respect des politiques de sécurité de l'entreprise.

Quel est l'avantage du Secure Access Service Edge ?
Le terme « edge » (ou « périphérie ») dans SASE fait référence aux systèmes globaux du fournisseur de services cloud qui existent sur son matériel (datacenters et appareils). Les utilisateurs accèdent aux services cloud en se connectant et en authentifiant leur identité, quel que soit l'endroit où ils se trouvent, et passent par cet « edge » pour accéder à l'environnement cloud.

signification du sase


White Paper: SASE and the Seven Forces Shaping Security Transformation
Blog: Le point de vue d'un RSSI sur les SASE


 

Pourquoi le SASE est-il important ?

Les mesures de sécurité conventionnelles partaient du principe que les applications et les utilisateurs se trouveraient à l'intérieur du périmètre réseau ; or, ce n'est de nos jours plus le cas. Les données des entreprises sont migrées dans le cloud, les employés travaillent de plus en plus à distance et les initiatives en matière de transformation numérique exigent que les services informatiques fassent preuve d'agilité afin de pouvoir tirer profit des nouvelles opportunités commerciales.

Il en résulte un périmètre réseau traditionnel en train de disparaître et la nécessité de nouveaux modèles pour le contrôle d'accès, la protection des données et la protection contre les menaces. Compte tenu de ces changements, les entreprises constatent que l'ensemble de leurs produits indépendants (pare-feu, passerelle Web sécurisée, prévention des pertes de données (DLP) et CASB, etc.) n'est plus adapté à un monde cloud-first.

SASE : les prédictions du cabinet Gartner

 

20 % des entreprises adopteront des technologies SWG, CASB, ZTNA et FWaaS d'ici 2023
of enterprises will adopt SWG, CASB, ZTNA and branch FWaaS by 2023
40 % des entreprises mettront au point des stratégies d'adoption de l'architecture SASE d'ici 2024
of enterprises will develop strategies to adopt SASE by 2024

SOURCE : RAPPORT GARTNER « THE FUTURE OF NETWORK SECURITY IS IN THE CLOUD » (L'AVENIR DE LA SÉCURITÉ DES RÉSEAUX RÉSIDE DANS LE CLOUD)

 

À quoi ressemble une architecture SASE ?

Le modèle Secure Access Service Edge, ou SASE, consolide les services réseau et de sécurité au sein d'une architecture cloud afin de protéger les utilisateurs, applications et données, quel que soit leur emplacement. Le contexte actuel éloigne les utilisateurs et applications des réseaux d'entreprise. Dès lors, des appliances matérielles en périphérie ne suffisent plus à les protéger.

schéma SASE

L'architecture SASE comporte deux composantes : la sécurité et les réseaux

Une architecture SASE vous permet alors de bénéficier des capacités réseau et de sécurité nécessaires sous la forme de services cloud. Lorsqu'il est correctement exécuté, le modèle SASE supprime la dépendance aux appliances en périphérie et autres solutions traditionnelles. Au lieu que le trafic soit transmis à une appliance à des fins de sécurité, les utilisateurs se connectent à un service cloud SASE. À partir de ce dernier, ils sont en mesure d'utiliser des applications et des données en toute sécurité et dans le respect des politiques de sécurité de l'entreprise.


Blog: How to Securely Manage Your Shift to the Cloud
Blog: Gartner et son guide stratégique pour le modèle de convergence SASE


 

Le SASE comprend les technologies et capacités suivantes

Une architecture SASE est en mesure d'identifier les utilisateurs et les périphériques, d'appliquer des contrôles de sécurité basés sur des politiques et de fournir un accès sécurisé aux données et applications appropriées. Le SASE permet de fournir un accès sécurisé, quel que soit l'emplacement des utilisateurs, des données, des applications ou des périphériques.

  • Microservices cloud-native réunis en une seule et même plateforme
  • Possibilité d'inspecter le traffic chiffré SSL/TLS dans le cloud
  • Proxy inline capable de décoder le trafic cloud et Web (Next-Generation Secure Web Gateway/NG SWG)
  • Pare-feu et protection contre les intrusions pour tous les ports et protocoles (Firewall as a Service/FWaaS)
  • Intégration de l'API du service cloud managé pour les données au repos (Cloud Access Security Broker/CASB)
  • Évaluation continue de la sécurité du cloud public IaaS (Cloud Security Posture Management/CSPM)
  • Protection avancée des données en transit et au repos (Prévention des pertes de données/DLP)
  • Protection contre les menaces avancées, notamment IA/ML, UEBA, sandboxing, etc. (ATP)
  • Partage d'informations sur les menaces et intégration dans EPP/EDR (Endpoint Protection Platform/Endpoint Detection and Response), SIEM (Security Information and Event Management) et SOAR (Security Orchestration, Automation, and Response)
  • Périmètre défini par logiciel avec accès réseau Zero Trust pour remplacer les VPN existants (SDP, ZTNA)
  • Protection pour les succursales et assistance dans le cadre des initiatives de mise en réseau des succursales (SD-WAN, notamment)
  • Infrastructure réseau hyperscale, de catégorie opérateur, avec un réseau mondial de points de présence (POP)

Blog: La direction prise par les CASB et les SWG
Blog: Don’t Strangle Your SASE


 

Quels sont les avantages du SASE ?

1. Flexibilité
Offre un accès « direct-to-net » ou « direct-to-cloud » depuis n'importe quel emplacement, pour faciliter l'adoption de nouveaux modèles métiers numériques

2. Réduction des coûts
Élimine les dépenses d'investissement pour les infrastructures locales, et génère des dépenses d'exploitation réduites et prévisibles en raison de son modèle Security-as-a-Service

3. Simplification :
La consolidation des services dans un modèle cloud élimine l'empilement complexe de solutions ad hoc et simplifie les efforts opérationnels.

4. Augmentation des performances :
Améliore et accélère l'accès aux ressources Internet à travers une infrastructure réseau mondiale, optimisée pour offrir une faible latence, une capacité élevée et une haute disponibilité

5. Accès réseau Zero Trust
Offre un accès sécurisé et contextuel aux applications privées dans des clouds publics/privés

6. Protection contre les menaces :
Bloque les attaques cloud et Web telles que le cloud phishing, les malwares, les ransomwares et les comportements internes malveillants

7. Protection des données
Protège les données où qu'elles aillent, à l'intérieur comme à l'extérieur de l'entreprise, y compris dans les clouds publics ainsi qu'entre les instances d'entreprise et les instances personnelles des applications cloud

 

Quelles sont les quatre questions à poser lors de l'adoption du SASE ?

1. Comment votre solution de sécurité actuelle vous donne-t-elle une visibilité et un contexte complets sur tout le trafic Web et cloud ?

Tâchez de combiner votre passerelle Web sécurisée (SWG) et votre agent de sécurité des accès au cloud (CASB). Vous bénéficierez alors d'une visibilité et d'un contrôle critiques sur vos dispositifs DLP (protection contre la perte de données) et ATP (protection contre les menaces avancées), qui sont hébergés sur la même plateforme, dans le cloud. Après avoir abandonné vos anciennes appliances SWG, optez pour un accès réseau zéro-confiance (ZTNA) afin de remplacer vos appliances VPN obsolètes et de moderniser votre stratégie globale en matière d'accès sécurisé.

2. Quel niveau de cloud votre solution de sécurité actuelle couvre-t-elle ?

La majorité du trafic cloud est chiffrée, ce qui amène de plus en plus de pirates à exploiter le cloud pour échapper aux contrôles réseau traditionnels. L'inspection SSL/TLS à l'échelle du cloud vous permet de réduire votre exposition à ces nouvelles menaces.

3. Votre réseau actuel prend-il en charge des performances élevées et une disponibilité constante ?

Les utilisateurs s'attendent à des performances élevées avec une faible latence, car si le SASE est lent, les utilisateurs mécontents chercheront à contourner votre système. Pour leur offrir une expérience optimale, assurez-vous que votre solution SASE a été conçue pour des performances maximales et qu'elle soit disponible où vos utilisateurs se trouvent.

4. Combien de consoles et politiques sont actuellement en place afin d'assurer la gestion de votre solution de sécurité ?

De nombreux fournisseurs donnent le nom de solutions cloud à des logiciels qu'ils ont adaptés ou dématérialisés après leur conception. Si votre solution n'a pas été conçue pour répondre au modèle SASE, vous risquez bien de vous retrouver avec de multiples consoles d'administration et de nombreuses politiques difficiles à gérer, ainsi que des outils d'analyse qui ne feront que ralentir vos équipes. Optez donc pour une solution associée à une console de gestion, un client et une politique unique pour rationaliser les opérations et l'efficacité des équipes chargées du réseau et de la sécurité.


Pour plus d'informations sur le SASE, téléchargez le Kit de documentation SASE et le Guide d'adoption SASE sur Netskope.

 

SASE Week

Where Networking, Security, and Zero Trust Intersect

 

Secure Access Services Edge (SASE) architecture and zero trust principles are the answers to many of the challenges companies face with the acceleration of digital transformation. Netskope is positioned to help you begin your journey and discover where security, networking, and zero trust fit in the SASE world.

 

Whether your focus is protecting the enterprise or managing the network, we invite you to replay these sessions centered around building a SASE framework, exploring zero trust principles, and securing your business for the future.

 

SASE Week

Devenez un expert SASE

Sponsorisée par Netskope, la certification SASE est une formation d'introduction au modèle Secure Access Service Edge (SASE), un cadre architectural pour la sécurité et réseau qui répond aux problèmes de sécurité auxquels les organisations d'aujourd'hui font face lorsqu'elles adoptent des applications cloud, protègent les données et unifient les services de réseau et de sécurité.

 

Pendant cette formation de deux jours, vous apprendrez comment l'architecture SASE aide les experts réseau et de sécurité à obtenir plus de visibilité et des informations exploitables en temps réel sur les services cloud, l'activité, le trafic et les données tout en simplifiant votre solution de sécurité.

Formation sur la certification SASE par Netskope

Ressources

Déploiement du Zero Trust dans une architecture SASE

Déploiement du Zero Trust dans une architecture SASE

Magic Quadrant 2020 de Gartner dédié aux SWG

Magic Quadrant 2020 de Gartner dédié aux SWG

Magic Quadrant 2020 de Gartner dédié aux CASB

Magic Quadrant 2020 de Gartner dédié aux CASB

Gartner : Guide stratégique 2021 pour le modèle de convergence SASE

Gartner : Guide stratégique 2021 pour le modèle de convergence SASE

La conception d'une architecture SASE pour les nuls

La conception d'une architecture SASE pour les nuls

How to Get SASE Right the First Time

How to Get SASE Right the First Time

Network Considerations in the age of SASE

Network Considerations in the age of SASE

SASE and the Seven Forces Shaping Security Transformation

SASE and the Seven Forces Shaping Security Transformation

Guide d'adoption SASE

Guide d'adoption SASE

Les 5 principaux cas d'utilisation du modèle SASE pour les télétravailleurs

Les 5 principaux cas d'utilisation du modèle SASE pour les télétravailleurs

Développer une architecture SASE avec Netskope Security Cloud et votre infrastructure de sécurité existante

Développer une architecture SASE avec Netskope Security Cloud et votre infrastructure de sécurité existante

How the Security Inversion Impacts User and Data Protection

How the Security Inversion Impacts User and Data Protection

The SASE Blog Collection

The SASE Blog Collection

Subscribe for the latest cloud security insights

By submitting this form, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge our Privacy Statement.

Secure Access Service Edge (SASE)

What is SASE?

Secure Access Service Edge (SASE), pronounced “sassy,” is a cloud-based architecture that delivers network and security services meant to protect users, applications, and data. This term was coined by Gartner in 2019 and has quickly risen through the ranks to become one of the top aspirational security concepts of the current decade so far. Given that many users and applications no longer live and operate on a corporate network, access and security measures can’t depend on conventional hardware appliances in the corporate datacenter.

SASE promises to deliver the necessary networking and security capabilities in the form of cloud-delivered services. Done properly, a SASE model eliminates perimeter-based appliances and legacy solutions. Instead of delivering the traffic to an appliance for security, users connect to the SASE cloud service to safely access and use web services, applications, and data with the consistent enforcement of security policy.

Where is the “edge” in Secure Access Service Edge?
The “edge” in SASE refers to the cloud provider’s global systems that exist on their hardware (data centers and devices). Users access cloud services by logging in and authenticating their identities, from any location, and are passed through this “edge” into the cloud environment.

sase meaning


White Paper: SASE and the Seven Forces Shaping Security Transformation
Blog: A CISOs View of SASE


 

Why is SASE important?

Conventional security measures presumed that applications and users would be inside the network perimeter, which is no longer true. Corporate data is moving to the cloud, employees are increasingly working remote, and digital transformation initiatives require IT organizations to be nimble to capitalize on new business opportunities.

As a result, the traditional network perimeter is dissolving, and new models for access controls, data protection, and threat protection are necessary. In light of these changes, organizations are finding that their existing collection of standalone point products such as firewalls, secure web gateway, data loss prevention (DLP), and cloud access security brokers (CASB), are no longer applicable in a cloud-first world.

Gartner SASE predictions

 

20% of enterprises will adopt SWG, CASB, ZTNA and branch FWaaS by 2023
of enterprises will adopt SWG, CASB, ZTNA and branch FWaaS by 2023
40% of enterprises will develop strategies to adopt SASE by 2024
of enterprises will develop strategies to adopt SASE by 2024

SOURCE: GARTNER REPORT: THE FUTURE OF NETWORK SECURITY IS IN THE CLOUD

 

What does a SASE architecture look like?

Secure Access Service Edge, or SASE, unifies networking and security services in a cloud-delivered architecture to protect users, applications, and data everywhere. Given that users and applications are no longer on a corporate network, security measures can’t depend on conventional hardware appliances at the network edge.

SASE diagram

There are two sides of SASE architecture: Security and Networking

Instead, SASE promises to deliver the necessary networking and security as cloud-delivered services. Done properly, a SASE model eliminates perimeter-based appliances and legacy solutions. Instead of delivering the traffic to an appliance for security, users connect to the SASE cloud service to safely use applications and data with the consistent enforcement of security policy.


Blog: How to Securely Manage Your Shift to the Cloud
Blog: How to Think About Gartner’s Strategic Roadmap for SASE Convergence


 

SASE Includes the Following Technologies and Capabilities

A SASE architecture is capable of identifying users and devices, applying policy-based security controls, and delivering secure access to the appropriate applications or data. SASE makes it possible to provide secure access regardless of where users, data, applications or devices are located.

  • Cloud-native microservices in a single platform architecture
  • Ability to inspect SSL/TLS encrypted traffic at cloud scale
  • Inline proxy capable of decoding cloud and web traffic (Next-Generation Secure Web Gateway/NG SWG)
  • Firewall and intrusion protection for all ports and protocols (Firewall as a Service/FWaaS)
  • Managed cloud service API integration for data-at-rest (Cloud Access Security Broker/CASB)
  • Public cloud IaaS continuous security assessment (Cloud Security Posture Management/CSPM)
  • Advanced data protection for data-in-motion and at-rest (Data Loss Prevention/DLP)
  • Advanced threat protection, including AI/ML, UEBA, sandboxing, etc. (ATP)
  • Threat intelligence sharing and integration with EPP/EDR (Endpoint Protection Platform/Endpoint Detection and Response), SIEM (Security Information and Event Management), and SOAR (Security Orchestration, Automation, and Response)
  • Software-defined perimeter with zero trust network access, replacing legacy VPNs (SDP, ZTNA)
  • Protection for the branch, including support for branch networking initiatives such as SD-WAN (Software-Defined Wide Area Network)
  • Carrier-grade, hyper-scale network infrastructure with a global POP (Point of Presence) footprint

Blog: Where CASB and SWG and Headed
Blog: Don’t Strangle Your SASE


 

What are the Benefits of SASE?

1. Flexibility:
Allows for direct-to-net or direct-to-cloud access from anywhere for easy adoption of new digital business models

2. Cost savings:
Eliminates CapEx for on-premises infrastructure and provides lower, predictable OpEx due to its Security-as-a-Service model

3. Reduced complexity:
Consolidated services into a cloud-delivered model eliminates complex stack of legacy point solutions and simplifies operational effort

4. Increased performance:
Enhances and accelerates access to internet resources via a global network infrastructure optimized for low-latency, high-capacity, and high-availability

5. Zero trust network access:
Provides secure, contextual access to private apps in public/private clouds

6. Threat protection:
Stops cloud and web attacks such as cloud phishing, malware, ransomware, and malicious insiders

7. Data protection:
Protects data everywhere it goes, inside and outside of the organization, including within public clouds as well as between company and person instances of cloud apps

 

What are the Four Questions to Ask When Adopting SASE?

1. How does your current web or cloud security give you full visibility and context across all web and cloud traffic?

Consider consolidating your secure web gateway (SWG) and cloud access security broker (CASB). This will provide critical visibility and control for data loss protection (DLP) and advanced threat protection (ATP) defenses that are also cloud-hosted in the same platform. Along with retiring your legacy SWG appliances, migrate to zero trust network access (ZTNA) to replace your legacy VPN appliances to modernize your overall secure access posture.

2. What level of cloud-scale does your current security solution provide?

The majority of cloud traffic is encrypted, and a growing number of attackers are leveraging the cloud to evade traditional network controls. Using cloud-scale SSL/TLS inspection helps you stay on top of the threat landscape.

3. Does your current network support high performance and consistent availability?

Users expect high performance with low latency, because if the SASE is slow, unhappy users will look for ways around your system. In order to deliver great user experience, make sure that your SASE solution is engineered for high performance and located in the places that your users are.

4. How many consoles and policies do you currently have to use to manage your existing security stack?

Many vendors are adapting or virtualizing their software and calling it a cloud-based solution. If it isn’t designed to be a SASE, you may end up with multiple administrative consoles, complex policies that are hard to manage, and time-wasting tools for conducting investigations. Choose a solution that has a single management console, single client, and a single policy engine to streamline operations and effectiveness for network and security teams.


For more information on SASE, download Netskope’s SASE Resource Pack and SASE Adoption Guide.

 

Become a SASE Expert

Sponsored by Netskope, The SASE Accreditation is an introductory training on Secure Access Service Edge (SASE), an architectural framework for security and networking that addresses the security challenges modern organizations face as they embrace cloud applications, protect data, and unify networking and security services.

 

In this two-day accreditation, you will learn how SASE helps networking and security professionals gain greater visibility and real-time actionable information about cloud services, activity, traffic, and data while also simplifying your security stack.

SASE accreditation course by Netskope

Resources

2020 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SWG

2020 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SWG

2020 Gartner Magic Quadrant for CASB

2020 Gartner Magic Quadrant for CASB

Gartner: 2021 Strategic Roadmap for SASE Convergence

Gartner: 2021 Strategic Roadmap for SASE Convergence

Designing a SASE Architecture For Dummies

Designing a SASE Architecture For Dummies

How to Get SASE Right the First Time

How to Get SASE Right the First Time

Network Considerations in the age of SASE

Network Considerations in the age of SASE

SASE and the Seven Forces Shaping Security Transformation

SASE and the Seven Forces Shaping Security Transformation

Adoption Guide for SASE

Adoption Guide for SASE

Top 5 SASE Use Cases for Remote Workers

Top 5 SASE Use Cases for Remote Workers

Building a SASE-ready Architecture with Netskope Security Cloud and Your Existing Security Infrastructure

Building a SASE-ready Architecture with Netskope Security Cloud and Your Existing Security Infrastructure

How the Security Inversion Impacts User and Data Protection

How the Security Inversion Impacts User and Data Protection

The SASE Blog Collection

The SASE Blog Collection

Subscribe for the latest cloud security insights

By submitting this form, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge our Privacy Statement.